CCAB-qualified accountants

The Consultative Committee of Accountancy Bodies (known as CCAB), formed in 1974, is an umbrella group for the major British qualified accountancy bodies. All six British and Irish professional accountancy bodies with a Royal Charter are members of the CCAB. These six are also the British professional bodies that belong to the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC). They are:

* Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)
* Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)
* Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA)
* Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)
* Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland (ICAI) Constitutes the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. It is considered to be both a British and Irish professional body.
* Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland (ICAS)

All full members of these bodies are deemed to hold equivalent-level qualifications. Many job advertisements for accountants in the United Kingdom therefore specify CCAB qualified as though it was a specific qualification rather than a group of qualifications. In practice some employers use the term as shorthand for 'professional accountant' and might consider members of the non-Chartered bodies.

The CCAB bodies, excluding CIMA are Recognised Qualifying Bodies (RQB) in relation to company auditing under the Companies Act 1989.


Post a Comment