Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT

Certified in the Governance of Enterprise Information Technology (CGEIT) is an advanced certification created in 2007 by ISACA. It is designed for experienced professionals, who can demonstrate 5 or more years experience, serving in a managing or advisory role focused on the governance and control of IT at an enterprise level. It also requires passing a 4-hour test, designed to evaluate an applicant's understanding of enterprise IT management. The first examination was held on December 13, 2008.

The professional experience and knowledge requirements are grouped into 6 job practice domains:

* Domain 1 — IT Governance Framework (25%)

Define, establish and maintain an IT governance framework (leadership, organizational structures and processes) to: ensure alignment with enterprise governance; control the business information and information technology environment through the implementation of good practices; and assure compliance with external requirements.

* Domain 2 — Strategic Alignment (15%)

Ensure that IT enables and supports the achievement of business objectives through the integration of IT strategic plans with business strategic plans and the alignment of IT services with enterprise operations to optimize business processes.

* Domain 3 — Value Delivery (15%)

Ensure that IT and the business fulfill their value management responsibilities: IT-enabled business investments achieve the benefits as promised and deliver measurable business value both individually and collectively, that required capabilities (solutions and services) are delivered on-time and within budget, and that IT services and other IT assets continue to contribute to business value.

* Domain 4 — Risk Management (20%)

Ensure that appropriate frameworks exist and are aligned with relevant standards to identify, assess, mitigate, manage, communicate and monitor IT-related business risks as an integral part of an enterprise's governance environment.

* Domain 5 — Resource Management (13%)

Ensure that IT has sufficient, competent and capable to execute current and future strategic objectives and keep up with business demands by optimizing the investment, use and allocation of IT assets.

* Domain 6 — Performance Measurement (12%)

Ensure that business-supporting IT goals/objectives and measures are established in collaboration with key stakeholders and that measurable targets are set, monitored and evaluated.

ISACA has instituted a 'grandfathering' provision for this certification. During the period October, 2007 to December, 2008, ISACA is granting the CGEIT certification to extraordinarily qualified IT governance professionals via a review of experience and credentials; no test is required, but 8 years of experience is required, instead of the 5 years of experience required in conjunction with the exam, after the expiration of the grandfathering period.


Post a Comment